Danner Mountain Light Cascade Reviews

Customer Reviews
5Rated 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars (50 reviews)
50 reviews
total

Overall Rating:

74%5Rated 5 stars

12%4Rated 4 stars

10%3Rated 3 stars

0%2Rated 2 stars

4%1Rated 1 stars

Customer Fit Survey:

62%"Felt true to size"

85%"Felt true to width"

56%"Moderate arch support"

48 are "Favorable"

2 are "Critical"

Top Positive Review

5 people found this review helpful
Overall5Rated 5 stars
Comfort5Rated 5 stars
Style5Rated 5 stars
Ok, I'll be honest. I went to see the movie Wild and fell in love with these boots. I thought they were pricey and thought I'll order them, try them on and get my fix and send them back. I LOVE them!!! No way I'm sending them back. Felt great from the moment I put them on and they look great on. They don't look bulky. They look like a woman's boot. I'm so glad I bought them.
Jan 24, 2015 by Jennifer
vs

Top Critical Review

9 people found this review helpful
Overall1Rated 1 stars
Comfort1Rated 1 stars
Style2Rated 2 stars
If you consider yourself a serious hiker, do NOT buy these boots. After reading so many wonderful reviews, I decided to buy these boots for a summer of hiking through different national parks. I broke them in by hiking 3-5 miles every other day through my neighborhood park for about 2 months. They felt fine and I was excited to wear them over the summer. As we hiked our first park, I wore them for 10+ miles on the first day and 10+ miles on the second day. On the third day, I started to feel intense soreness through my achilles tendons. My husband thought they just weren't broken in enough so I continued to wear them for a few more days. The pain just kept getting worse and worse, to the point where it was unbearable to hike in them. I switched to my Chacos and was able to hike many miles in them without any pain. I took a two week break from the Danner boots during the trip, thinking that my tendons just needed some time to heel and strengthen. The second I started walking in the boots again the pain flared up. I went to a nearby REI to get other boots to finish my trip in. I spoke with two different employees about the Danner boots and both said how horrible they were. People were constantly returning the shoes because they made the same mistake I did. While these boots look adorable, the technology is archaic, the soles are flat, and they are super heavy. They are NOT good boots if you plan to do any actual hiking!
Aug 20, 2015 by Anonymous

Additional 50 Mountain Light Cascade Danner Reviews

Search
  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful
  • Newest

1 2 Next »

9 people found this review helpful
1Rated 1 stars
Overall:1Rated 1 starsComfort:1Rated 1 starsStyle:2Rated 2 stars
Was this review helpful?
If you consider yourself a serious hiker, do NOT buy these boots. After reading so many wonderful reviews, I decided to buy these boots for a summer of hiking through different national parks. I broke them in by hiking 3-5 miles every other day through my neighborhood park for about 2 months. They felt fine and I was excited to wear them over the summer. As we hiked our first park, I wore them for 10+ miles on the first day and 10+ miles on the second day. On the third day, I started to feel intense soreness through my achilles tendons. My husband thought they just weren't broken in enough so I continued to wear them for a few more days. The pain just kept getting worse and worse, to the point where it was unbearable to hike in them. I switched to my Chacos and was able to hike many miles in them without any pain. I took a two week break from the Danner boots during the trip, thinking that my tendons just needed some time to heel and strengthen. The second I started walking in the boots again the pain flared up. I went to a nearby REI to get other boots to finish my trip in. I spoke with two different employees about the Danner boots and both said how horrible they were. People were constantly returning the shoes because they made the same mistake I did. While these boots look adorable, the technology is archaic, the soles are flat, and they are super heavy. They are NOT good boots if you plan to do any actual hiking!
I'd also recommend:
Lowa, Vasque, Merrell
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt narrower than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • August 20, 2015
9 people found this review helpful
5 people found this review helpful
Jennifer from Martinsville, VA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Ok, I'll be honest. I went to see the movie Wild and fell in love with these boots. I thought they were pricey and thought I'll order them, try them on and get my fix and send them back. I LOVE them!!! No way I'm sending them back. Felt great from the moment I put them on and they look great on. They don't look bulky. They look like a woman's boot. I'm so glad I bought them.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Jennifer, Zappos Customer
  • from Martinsville, VA
  • January 24, 2015
5 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Amazing boots. I am normally a solid 8.5 , I bought both size 8 and size 8.5. After wearing them around the house, size 8 fit like a glove (not what you want in a hiking boot in the toe area) but if you are doing a lot of walking/hiking I can see toe issues and toenail loss (yes just like the movie Wild- the reason her toenail fell off is because her boots were too small) The toe area is narrow in these, I would order your normal size to allow for socks and circulation and toe movement. The Danner boot representative said she wears her normal size too. Trust me I struggled with sizing as I hate sloppy shoes, but after careful and long consideration, these boots are not going to be stretching especially in the toe area where I feel would be the most sizing issues so I stuck with my normal size 8.5. These are hiking boots and should not fit like ballet flats or any shoe like that. Also if you have a wide foot, go up a half size, this will allow for extra width. Hope this helps you don't want to have hiking boots too cramped.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • July 11, 2015
2 people found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Kara P from Northeast Ohio
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I usually wear a size 8 but I purchased a size 7.5 in these boots. They fit great! There's enough room for when I want to wear a thicker sock with them, but also fit very nicely with "normal" socks. Right now the leather is very stiff, but I can tell they're made exceptionally well. I can't wait to break them in and go on some hikes with my new Danners! Thank you, Zappos, for making my first Zappos buying experience a good one.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Kara P, Zappos Customer
  • from Northeast Ohio
  • March 26, 2015
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love them. At first I thought I would like the size 8 as I am a size 8.5 solid and Danner sizing says size down 1/2 size. Well tried both and 8 fit like a glove but realized after walking a lot the toe area may be scrunched/cramped. These are hard toe hiking boots and they will not be stretching out in the toe area ever. I ended up keeping size 8.5 my normal size after walking around in them in the house and talking to representatives including a Danner customer service girl who takes her normal size in these as well. Order regular size these are hiking boots not ballet flats and you should be able to wiggle your toes are put a thicker sock on without pain.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • March 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Nashville, TN
3Rated 3 stars
Overall:3Rated 3 starsComfort:1Rated 1 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
The boots are beautiful. The Achilles area is a big problem however. They actually broke the skin the first time I wore them out of the house. I loved the look so much that I took a hammer to the top back in hopes of expediting the break is process. While it helped, the pain is still a problem even with socks.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size smaller than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Nashville, TN
  • November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful
Amy from AZ
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:3Rated 3 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love these! Only reason for a three star on comfort is they are stiff, but will break in nicely! I am a solid 8.5 and these are just right.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Amy, Zappos Customer
  • from AZ
  • October 16, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
I ordered these in my usual size 7.5. They were pretty big, even with a large sock, so I returned for a 7, which is perfect. Many people have mentioned something painful in the heel, but I am lucky enough not to feel that. They felt good from the beginning, but they do need some breaking in so they will be good for everyday. I did not buy them for hiking, but I think they may actually be good for that, which I didn't expect after reading reviews.. I wore them for the first time to a casual event with little walking and I was good in them for 5 hours. I have a narrower foot, but I don't buy narrow shoes, so the width is fine for me. I recommend them.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • October 12, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I love these boots! They are very well made and I’m so glad I happened to see them on Zappos. They are worth every penny!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • August 9, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Sexy boot! Love the old school look! Very comfortable! Im in love with them, was going to wear them as my work boot bit they are just to nice!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • June 20, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love these boots !!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • June 13, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
These are a bit pricey, but worth it! Love the style and they are very comfortable. I've gotten lots of compliments.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • May 10, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Takes me right back to the Seventies ?? Very nostalgic hiking boots....but I had to get a full size smaller than my usual size 8....I had to get a size 7 and they fit wonderfully....the leather is scrumptious!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • April 6, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love it! Very cute but most importantly, very comfortable for my aching feet. This will be my daily, all-round, any weather, go-to shoe. Thanks, Zappos, for the always quick delivery!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • February 11, 2018
Leah from Waterbury
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
These run a size LARGE! my husband and I both had to return for whole size smaller! THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL & COMFY!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Leah, Zappos Customer
  • from Waterbury
  • January 6, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Your gonna get nonstop compliments on these hiking boots. They do take a little time to break them in but once they mold to your foot, your good to go!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • January 2, 2018
Emily from Washington State
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
They took a while to break in, but I have had them for about six months now and they are great. These boots have excellent construction. Love the Danner quality. I hiked every weekend during the fall in them and did not have any problems. I do suggest wearing good socks. I could see how they could rub on your heel otherwise. They are not fancy in terms of the modern technology and whatnot, but they are a classic. They are not a one season boot, they will last a long time. You can also send them back to Danner and get them re-soled and cleaned up. These boots are well worth the price.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Emily, Zappos Customer
  • from Washington State
  • January 7, 2017
Latisha from NY
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love them. Cute for city snow weather and mountain hiking. Very comfy.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size smaller than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Latisha, Zappos Customer
  • from NY
  • January 4, 2017
Sam from Minnesota
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Fits well to size. Somewhat stiff leather initially but breaks-in with wearing. I use the inserts which help with additional comfort and support. Have yet to wear them camping or hiking but have so far been a great casual boot.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Sam, Zappos Customer
  • from Minnesota
  • December 21, 2016
Samantha W from Denver, CO
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Haven't gotten to take these out on a trail yet, but they came in the mail today and i can't stop walking around the house in them. Slipping them on my feet made me fall in love. The most comfortable pair of shoes I have ever put on. excellent support and they came with inserts! Took me three months of saving up but totally worth it. Will post a second review after their maiden voyage!
I'd also recommend:
patagonia
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Samantha W, Zappos Customer
  • from Denver, CO
  • November 6, 2016
A from Seattle, WA
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:2Rated 2 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Fell in love with these after seeing them in a movie. I read many other reviews about the fit, but had to try them out for myself. Sadly, I had to return them because they were not nearly wide enough and squished my feet and toes. The Achilles area also rubbed and all I did was walk in my house for about 2 minutes. Love the brand (I wear other styles for work), love the look, just way too narrow and stiff to be comfortable for me.
  • A, Zappos Customer
  • from Seattle, WA
  • October 28, 2016
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I'm normally a size 7 or 7.5 but ended up going with a size 8 and adding Superfeet insoles (the boots only come with a slippery plastic insole) and so I could wear thick socks when hiking. I used a rubber mallet on the heel to break it in. I wore them on a backpacking trip with hiking socks and liners and only had one hot spot on my toe--which is pretty good for not breaking them in first. They kept my feet dry in the rain and when I stepped in puddles. To the people who complain that they're too stiff--they're supposed to be. They're hiking and work boots, they're meant to keep your ankles stable and support heavy weight. I have no doubt these boots will last me years, unlike my previous Gore-tex boots.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size smaller than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • September 30, 2016
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Initially looking to replace my Asolo 525 for a variety of reasons, primary one being extremely slippery sole. (Note that these two Vibram soles are much different.) While these two boots may not be exactly comparable, I've been pleased with this boots performance. A couple of cautions: you will need to size down 1/2 size. And: This boot requires upkeep and conditioning. It also requires a break-in period. Your heels will thank you. If you understand that you are buying quality boots from an outstanding manufacturer that are *leather* and all that entails... welcome to the wonderful world of Danner. These are, indeed, quality boots. They don't have the ankle stability of the Asolos, but most are over-booted on the trail, anyway. The sole is sticky and tacky in the way you want a boot to be in the wet conditions. The leather WILL stretch in the first break-in period. Prepare for multiple stops and readjustments. If you're slow and dilagent, this may be the last best boot you ever own. I now grab these over my Asolos for every adventure without hesitation or regret. Also... A company in Portland who stands behind every one of their boots. Much love.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • August 4, 2016
New York
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Super sturdy and really cute! I bought these to wear in the snow and they did not disappoint. I wouldn't size down (I wear an 11 and bought true to size) as other users recommend since I'd normally wear a thicker sock with it anyway and it allows a little extra space for that. The only issue I had with them is that the ankle rubs a bit on my achilles and I developed a couple of blisters, but I wore them for eight hours the first day I had them, so I think they just need a little breaking in. Would highly recommend!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from New York
  • February 21, 2016
Michelle W from Michigan
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I have been looking for nice hiking boots when I noticed the Danner Mountain Light Cascade. I loved that they are made in the USA. The price was hard to take on but I knew these would last 15-20 years. When they arrived, I was taken back by the quality and craftsmanship. Just beautiful! They fit true to size and I started the process of breaking them in. They are very stiff and need to be broken in a few hours a day. I wear them with thick wool socks for maybe 2 hours and this seems to be working. I will increase the amount of time each week until my hiking trip in April. I wear between a 8.5 to 9 and I went with the 8.5 and am glad I did. You will not be sorry to invested in these boots!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Michelle W, Zappos Customer
  • from Michigan
  • February 5, 2016

Zappos Family Culture

Learn what inspires Zappos.com to provide the best service!

Zappos Family Core Values:10 Values We Live By »

Customer Testimonials:Customers Connect »

Enjoy Fun and A Little Weirdness:Check out Blogs »

The Zappos.com Experience:Share Your Videos »

Unique Customers:Furry Customers »
Customers In Training »

Become a Part of the Zappos Family Culture:Careers »

Free Shipping
and Free Returns

If, for any reason, you are unsatisfied with your purchase from Zappos Retail, Inc. you may return it in its original condition within 365 days for a refund. We'll even pay for return shipping!

Read our Shipping and Return Policies »

Privacy Policy

Zappos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy »

Zappos Footer

Make your inbox happy by joining our exclusive newsletter!