Dr. Martens 8065 Reviews

Customer Reviews
4Rated 4 stars
4 out of 5 stars (61 reviews)
61 reviews
total

Overall Rating:

52%5Rated 5 stars

15%4Rated 4 stars

13%3Rated 3 stars

7%2Rated 2 stars

13%1Rated 1 stars

Customer Fit Survey:

67%"Felt true to size"

90%"Felt true to width"

62%"Moderate arch support"

49 are "Favorable"

12 are "Critical"

Top Positive Review

5 people found this review helpful
Overall5Rated 5 stars
Comfort5Rated 5 stars
Style5Rated 5 stars
This is the first pair of Doc I've purchase since around 1996. As we all know, Dr. M has shifted production from England to various countries in Southeast and East Asia since that time. There seem to be mixed reviews about the quality given that change. My two cents about the quality is this: Upon initial inspection and a few wears, these look and feel no different from the made in England Docs of my youth. Plain and simple, I can't tell a difference. Everything is as it should be. Will they hold up as well, I can't say. But they feel and look like they will. From a style perspective, these are classic clunky 90s shoes, exactly like you remember them from your babydoll dress and ripped tights outfit in 1995. They look cuter on the foot than they do in the picture, for those of you that didn't wear these the first time around. From a comfort and fit perspective: I normally wear a 9.5, but often buy a 10 to accomodate thick socks, and just because my feet are a tiny bit wide (but wide enough to necessitate a wide width shoe), so the extra room is helpful. I sized down in these and got the UK 7/US 9. They fit perfectly. If you're between sizes, I would say to size down. Comfort wise, well, they are Docs, so they have a break in period. Not a big deal to me, but to those with more sensitive feet, be forewarned. Even not yet broken in, I find these amazingly comfortable. The air cushioned sole really does make a difference. I wore them for the first time to IKEA this weekend, and for the first time ever, made it out of there without aching feet, so, enough said. My only complaint about these is that the buckles are RIDICULOUSLY difficult to adjust. Like, I literally spent 10 minutes on that. I also felt like I was on the verge of breaking the buckles the entire time. Fortunately, once the buckles are adjusted, you can slip your foot in without undoing them (a shoehorn would be helpful here), so it's ok. If I had to unbuckle these every time I put these on, I wouldn't keep them. Fortunately that is not the case. Overall, very happy with these. I'll enjoy reliving my 90s adolescence through these several times per week.
Nov 17, 2014 by Rachel
vs

Top Critical Review

20 people found this review helpful
Overall1Rated 1 stars
Comfort3Rated 3 stars
Style1Rated 1 stars
If you are looking to replace the ones that you fell in love with in 1995 - don't. These look similar, but are made in China, not England where they used to be made. They are cheap, flimsy and the leather upper is very thin, I almost thought it was not leather at all. I know it is leather, but you could actually convince me that it isn't, it's that cheap looking and feeling. Also the tongue, where the buckles are threaded, is narrower and it puckers - it's not as nice and flat and wide as it used to be, with the good heavy leather. While they are comfortable, for now, I can tell the inside has cheap lining and not the good leather it used to be, either. I am returning these, the price is a lot to pay. Steer clear.
Jan 25, 2013 by Stuart

Additional 61 8065 Dr. Martens Reviews

Search
  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful
  • Newest

1 2 3 Next »

20 people found this review helpful
Stuart from United States
1Rated 1 stars
Overall:1Rated 1 starsComfort:3Rated 3 starsStyle:1Rated 1 stars
Was this review helpful?
If you are looking to replace the ones that you fell in love with in 1995 - don't. These look similar, but are made in China, not England where they used to be made. They are cheap, flimsy and the leather upper is very thin, I almost thought it was not leather at all. I know it is leather, but you could actually convince me that it isn't, it's that cheap looking and feeling. Also the tongue, where the buckles are threaded, is narrower and it puckers - it's not as nice and flat and wide as it used to be, with the good heavy leather. While they are comfortable, for now, I can tell the inside has cheap lining and not the good leather it used to be, either. I am returning these, the price is a lot to pay. Steer clear.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Stuart, Zappos Customer
  • from United States
  • January 25, 2013
20 people found this review helpful
5 people found this review helpful
Rachel from Portland, OR
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
This is the first pair of Doc I've purchase since around 1996. As we all know, Dr. M has shifted production from England to various countries in Southeast and East Asia since that time. There seem to be mixed reviews about the quality given that change. My two cents about the quality is this: Upon initial inspection and a few wears, these look and feel no different from the made in England Docs of my youth. Plain and simple, I can't tell a difference. Everything is as it should be. Will they hold up as well, I can't say. But they feel and look like they will. From a style perspective, these are classic clunky 90s shoes, exactly like you remember them from your babydoll dress and ripped tights outfit in 1995. They look cuter on the foot than they do in the picture, for those of you that didn't wear these the first time around. From a comfort and fit perspective: I normally wear a 9.5, but often buy a 10 to accomodate thick socks, and just because my feet are a tiny bit wide (but wide enough to necessitate a wide width shoe), so the extra room is helpful. I sized down in these and got the UK 7/US 9. They fit perfectly. If you're between sizes, I would say to size down. Comfort wise, well, they are Docs, so they have a break in period. Not a big deal to me, but to those with more sensitive feet, be forewarned. Even not yet broken in, I find these amazingly comfortable. The air cushioned sole really does make a difference. I wore them for the first time to IKEA this weekend, and for the first time ever, made it out of there without aching feet, so, enough said. My only complaint about these is that the buckles are RIDICULOUSLY difficult to adjust. Like, I literally spent 10 minutes on that. I also felt like I was on the verge of breaking the buckles the entire time. Fortunately, once the buckles are adjusted, you can slip your foot in without undoing them (a shoehorn would be helpful here), so it's ok. If I had to unbuckle these every time I put these on, I wouldn't keep them. Fortunately that is not the case. Overall, very happy with these. I'll enjoy reliving my 90s adolescence through these several times per week.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Rachel, Zappos Customer
  • from Portland, OR
  • November 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Karen from seattle
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I just acquired a vintage pair of this excellent style. I totally wanted a pair of these in high school in the late 90's, but never could afford them! My shoe size is between 6 1/2 and 7 US. In the 1990's English-made Docs, I always wore a UK5. The pair I just got is the same size, and it's a little too big, while UK4 English-made Docs are definitely too small. In the new Asian-made Docs, of which the pictured shoe is an example, I easily fit into the UK4. So if you're looking to replace your 1990's favorite maryjanes, you should probably go down a size from what you used to wear. Any Dr. Martens shoe is so comfy once broken in, it's worth suffering a bit for a few days!
I'd also recommend:
vans, dansko
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Karen, Zappos Customer
  • from seattle
  • August 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Newark, Delaware
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I'm a 9.5/10 in shoes. Size 9 fit me perfect. I adore these shoes. You can never go wrong with Mary Janes. I primary bought these for work. I work in a business casual environment. I can’t do regular flats, I need something to arch support, and these are awesome in support. I had a pair of these years ago but were lost in transit when I flew across the country, thus I bought a brand spankin' new pair. :)
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Newark, Delaware
  • February 6, 2010
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Indiana
3Rated 3 stars
Overall:3Rated 3 starsComfort:2Rated 2 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Bought these hoping for a basic pair of everyday black shoes, because I know Docs are meant to last for years. Unfortunately, the leather is so stiff, I can barely wear them for more than an hour at a time without getting blisters. Great looking shoes, but I wish there was a way to break them in without breaking my feet.
  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Indiana
  • November 1, 2009
2 people found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
When I tried these on the first time, I had to unbuckle them completely in order to get them on. Buckling them is difficult because the leather is so stiff. I had to put them on the loosest setting. The tongue was also digging where the top of my foot meets the ankle. That night, I stuffed them tightly with hand towels. I left them that way for two days. Then I wore them to work several days in a row and they were totally comfortable. After one day, I was able to tighten the buckles. I can now get them on without unbuckling them, using a shoehorn and the fit is perfect. No digging at all, either. I thought the break-in period was going to be difficult, but two nights stuffed with towels did the trick. They're adorable and comfortable enough to wear all day. (I always wear them with socks.) I'd be happier if they were made in England, but for the great sale price I paid on Zappos, these cute cherry red Mary Janes are worth the money.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • December 4, 2016
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Julie from Milwaukee
1Rated 1 stars
Overall:1Rated 1 starsComfort:1Rated 1 starsStyle:1Rated 1 stars
Was this review helpful?
The shoes came in the mail and when I went to try them on, there were actual TOE PRINTS on the inside of the footbed and the soles showed clear wear - clearly they were used and then returned. Very poor quality control on the products being sent out by Zappos. When I called to let them know, the person on the phone merely said "sorry".
  • Julie, Zappos Customer
  • from Milwaukee
  • June 20, 2016
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Katherine K from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1Rated 1 stars
Overall:1Rated 1 starsComfort:1Rated 1 starsStyle:1Rated 1 stars
Was this review helpful?
I am so very sad! I ordered these after reading several reviewers' opinions stating that they were a reasonable facsimile of the 1990's version of this shoe though perhaps a little larger/longer. I had such high hopes. These 8065s turned out to be almost impossibly bad. I have my 1990's version of this shoe at hand (and I love them, though they are a bit too short) and the new version fails in every way. The material looks cheap and decidedly unleatherlike. The buckles are nearly impossible to unbuckle and adjust and are set such that no human foot could possibly find its way into the shoe. The insole is weird and removable and unlike any Dr. Martens shoe that I have ever seen. I am so disappointed in these and will turn my money and my efforts into figuring out a way to make my old pair more wearable for my (now 20 years older and slightly larger) feet.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Katherine K, Zappos Customer
  • from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
  • April 23, 2015
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Michelle K from Boston
1Rated 1 stars
Overall:1Rated 1 starsComfort:1Rated 1 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I've worn Docs for years. Instead of my usual Oxford style, I opted for these Mary Janes. They're definitely cute. However, the quality is not the usual Doc quality. The leather was thin and extremely stiff. Docs usually fit a little loose on me but these are overly snug and dig into my foot along the edges. I compared the exterior size of the shoe to my old Docs and they are exactly the same size so I feel confident that the shoe is the size it should be. I am quite disappointed in how the quality and comfort of the shoe has declined. I'm sad to say that I'm returning these shoes and going to find something comparable to the old Docs quality and comfort.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size smaller than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt narrower than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Michelle K, Zappos Customer
  • from Boston
  • October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I wear a European size 39 and these were a great fit. They are indeed very stiff out the box but I wore wool socks and slowly broke them in. After a month of continuous wear they are much softer and I have no pain wearing the shoes with just a thing pair of tights. As a professor I can wear them to work and find them very comfortable for teaching days. Very cute when paired with dresses, skirts, and pants.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • February 13, 2018
NSH from Boston, MA
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I wore Docs in the 90s and kept my first pairs for about 10 years. I was excited to return to them as a great option for comfort and style at (in my opinion) a reasonable price point for everyday shoes. They are incredibly comfortable once broken in. They look great with jeans and with dresses/skirts. I am a professor and find them work appropriate and capable of handling everything Boston weather throws at them- snow, rains, cobble stone streets. I wear an 8.5 or sz 39 and the U.K. size 6 felt just right. I wear them with thin wool socks or tights.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • NSH, Zappos Customer
  • from Boston, MA
  • January 15, 2018
Corvallis, Oregon
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
These are gorgeous Mary Jane-styled shoes. They are crafted with high-quality materials, and clear attention to detail makes this pair a true head-turner, regardless if paired with a skirt, slacks, jeans, or shorts.
I'd also recommend:
Frye, Born, Sofft
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Corvallis, Oregon
  • January 5, 2018
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I bought the shoes for my wife and she loves them! Perfect in every way for her as she wears the shoes to work and when we go out. She raves about the color and how the shoes look as good as the day she got them.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • September 29, 2017
STEPHANIE from NH
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I am still breaking mine in so right now I probably should have rated them lower in the comfort part but honestly I can totally see how comfortable they will be once they are broken in, I understand that could take a while. I personally don't expect that something I buy today will be the same as what it was 20 years ago so while these are not the same quality as they were in the past, I still find them to be overall the same shoes. I have had a serious ankle injury andI needed a pair of flat comfortable shoes to wear that would be good to teach in but more so to go from building to building on brick sidewalks at the university that would still be stylish and work appropriate; these fit the bill perfectly.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • STEPHANIE, Zappos Customer
  • from NH
  • August 25, 2017
Zina from Seattle
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I wear a 9-9.5 and I ordered a size 41. They have a nice roomy toe box and I can wear thick socks. Im a teacher, I am on my feet moving all day and these are great. They had what felt like an air bubble under my toes in the right shoe, at popped every time I walked, but after 3 days of breaking in, it worked itself out and now they are perfect. Great quality, sturdy, supportive shoes that I would absolutely purchase again.
I'd also recommend:
Sanita, Birkenstock, Brooks, Frye
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Zina, Zappos Customer
  • from Seattle
  • December 24, 2016
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I really like my new Dr. Martens! The break-in period has been a little rough...pretty tough on the back of my heels right now but they'll get there. I've received lots of compliments!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • October 18, 2016
Linda from Twin Cities, MN
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I bought my first pair of doc's in the '80's. I wore them for about 10 years. I also purchased a couple more pair in the mean time. The last tow pair I purchased are still in the boxes in my closet, I am still wearing a pair I purchased about 5 years ago. I feel like the ones I am wearing now are not as well made as the ones that were made in England, but after wearing them for 5 years, I shouldn't complain. They are great for work. I wear them everywhere! I think I'll be buried in them! I have three favorite shoe brands and my docs are number one!
I'd also recommend:
Born brand, very soft leather, easy to break in.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Linda, Zappos Customer
  • from Twin Cities, MN
  • July 23, 2016
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Bought these as a gift for my daughter. Chose same size as her Dr Marten boots, ran a full size too big. However, exchange was painless and fast with Zappos. Great customer service!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • January 16, 2016
Jeff V from Los Angeles CA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Great shoes at a great price! Fast and free shipping....Zappos is the best place to buy from!
  • Jeff V, Zappos Customer
  • from Los Angeles CA
  • August 12, 2015
Jan E from Leesburg, VA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I'm a teacher with arthritic hips, so I need supportive shoes to get through the day. These are sturdy, supportive, and pretty cute. I've loved Doc Martens for decades. Nice to have a pair with a slightly feminine look.
I'd also recommend:
Born, Dansko, Josef Siebel
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Jan E, Zappos Customer
  • from Leesburg, VA
  • August 8, 2015
San Diego CA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
My shoes came within a few days. I love the shoes, but I am a size 8 and a half and a nine is pretty loose. The buckles are very stiff also. But I have wanted these shoes for a long time and overall I really like them.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from San Diego CA
  • August 21, 2014
Washington, DC
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I've wanted these for awhile (rocking the funky suburban mom look), but when I broke my ankle and I needed something to accommodate my ankle brace, these were perfect -- supportive, comfortable, and adorable, which is something my sneakers are not. Plus, my 4 year old and I match when she wears her English sandals.
I'd also recommend:
Fluevog, Miz Mooz
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Washington, DC
  • April 25, 2014
Orlando, Florida
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I had to purchase these shoes for my daughter as it is the required uniform shoe of her school. They are very durable and she tells me they are very comfortable. She has been wearing daily for a month and says they are the most comfortable shoes she owns. Zappos shipped and delivered these to me quickly. I had them in less than one week.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size smaller than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Orlando, Florida
  • September 3, 2013
Robert K from Red Hill Pa.
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I have been wearing Dr Martens 8065 for about eight years. These are really comfortable shoes. I also have the Dr Martens 3AO4 shoes which are slightly different than the 8065s These they do not make any them any more. They are lighter than the 8065s.
I'd also recommend:
BASS CHACO MINNETONKA
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Robert K, Zappos Customer
  • from Red Hill Pa.
  • May 23, 2013
Jonathan C from Fort George G. Meade, Maryland
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I got these for my wife and she loves them. There's a short break-in period that comes along with any pair of Dr. Martens but after that, they'll last forever! I have several pair myself and I'm trying to convince her to get some boots, too!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Jonathan C, Zappos Customer
  • from Fort George G. Meade, Maryland
  • May 4, 2013

Zappos Family Culture

Learn what inspires Zappos.com to provide the best service!

Zappos Family Core Values:10 Values We Live By »

Customer Testimonials:Customers Connect »

Enjoy Fun and A Little Weirdness:Check out Blogs »

The Zappos.com Experience:Share Your Videos »

Unique Customers:Furry Customers »
Customers In Training »

Become a Part of the Zappos Family Culture:Careers »

Free Shipping
and Free Returns

If, for any reason, you are unsatisfied with your purchase from Zappos Retail, Inc. you may return it in its original condition within 365 days for a refund. We'll even pay for return shipping!

Read our Shipping and Return Policies »

Privacy Policy

Zappos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy »

Zappos Footer

Make your inbox happy by joining our exclusive newsletter!