SOREL Joan of Arctic™ Reviews

Customer Reviews
4Rated 4 stars
4 out of 5 stars (327 reviews)
327 reviews
total

Overall Rating:

61%5Rated 5 stars

20%4Rated 4 stars

9%3Rated 3 stars

5%2Rated 2 stars

4%1Rated 1 stars

Customer Fit Survey:

61%"Felt true to size"

74%"Felt true to width"

74%"Moderate arch support"

297 are "Favorable"

30 are "Critical"

Top Positive Review

48 people found this review helpful
Overall5Rated 5 stars
Comfort4Rated 4 stars
Style5Rated 5 stars
A long review, but a very thorough one! I bought these boots a few months ago, but decided I needed to wait until I REALLY needed them to review them- and since my region just got pounded with a nasty snow storm for the last few days, I've been able to break them in a bit and give a review. Style: I bought these boots because they were practical, but stylish looking. I've fallen under the spell of Uggs and other suede boots for the past few years, but I haven't been able to keep a pair through to the next season- when you wear boots like those consistently through a hard winter, the moisture and demand on the boots is too much. So I decided to purchase Sorel's because the last few generations of my family trust them to no end. They've definitely lived up to the Style standards. They're practical and cute. Ice: The first day of our storm was sleet, that then froze over-night and carried into the next day. I had to walk to a class before 8am, and none of the sidewalks had been salted. I stayed upright the entire time (even though I walked pretty fast, I was running late!) though the majority of the people walking around me were skidding a lot. Every time I skidded, the boots ended up gripping before any tragedy could occur. Snow: The town won't plow the sidewalks until the snow is done- so that means snow piled up on the sidewalks, and what wasn't packed down was just above my ankles- or where the rubber ends on these boots. I was very pleased- no moisture got into my boot, they were very effective in keeping out drifts of snow, even when plodding through. Part of that is due to the felt liner- they've added in a stretchable inset that stretches to fit your leg, instead of the old felt Sorel liners I remember that just had a slit through the middle. A much better design. --Also, Felt liners mean that the liners are replaceable, and if you feel your boots are getting colder again, you can purchase replacement liners instead of replacement boots.-- Warmth: My toes stayed toasty, with and without thick wool socks, and as someone who has suffered frostbite on my feet previously, that's a tough criteria to live up to. Size: I took the advice of other reviewers, and purchased down a size. I purchased a 7 1/2, while I would normally wear a 7 1/2 or an 8, and they're roomy for a 7 1/2, allowing me to wear thick wool socks. I'm not sure that they're really a 1/2 size large, because wearing thick socks is pretty darn tight. Comfort: The boot itself is comfortable, but if you let the felt liner touch your skin, it will rub and be very uncomfortable. I suggest always wearing long socks and perhaps even tucking your pants into your socks. I have some pretty nasty rug-burn like stuff near my ankles now. Over all a great boot for the first storm- I'm guessing they'll be great for many to come!
Dec 5, 2013 by AverageCarolyn
vs

Top Critical Review

2 people found this review helpful
Overall2Rated 2 stars
Comfort2Rated 2 stars
Style5Rated 5 stars
People...Land’s End—women’s alpine boot. Half the weight, 2x the insulation, infinitely more comfortable (true to size), just picked them up on sale for 50% off—$57. This sorel boot is like wearing cement shoes, no flexibility in the shaft whatsoever, overpriced AF.
Dec 23, 2017 by Anonymous

Additional 327 Joan of Arctic™ SOREL Reviews

Search
  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful
  • Newest

1 2 3 ... 14 Next »

48 people found this review helpful
AverageCarolyn from Minnesota
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
A long review, but a very thorough one! I bought these boots a few months ago, but decided I needed to wait until I REALLY needed them to review them- and since my region just got pounded with a nasty snow storm for the last few days, I've been able to break them in a bit and give a review. Style: I bought these boots because they were practical, but stylish looking. I've fallen under the spell of Uggs and other suede boots for the past few years, but I haven't been able to keep a pair through to the next season- when you wear boots like those consistently through a hard winter, the moisture and demand on the boots is too much. So I decided to purchase Sorel's because the last few generations of my family trust them to no end. They've definitely lived up to the Style standards. They're practical and cute. Ice: The first day of our storm was sleet, that then froze over-night and carried into the next day. I had to walk to a class before 8am, and none of the sidewalks had been salted. I stayed upright the entire time (even though I walked pretty fast, I was running late!) though the majority of the people walking around me were skidding a lot. Every time I skidded, the boots ended up gripping before any tragedy could occur. Snow: The town won't plow the sidewalks until the snow is done- so that means snow piled up on the sidewalks, and what wasn't packed down was just above my ankles- or where the rubber ends on these boots. I was very pleased- no moisture got into my boot, they were very effective in keeping out drifts of snow, even when plodding through. Part of that is due to the felt liner- they've added in a stretchable inset that stretches to fit your leg, instead of the old felt Sorel liners I remember that just had a slit through the middle. A much better design. --Also, Felt liners mean that the liners are replaceable, and if you feel your boots are getting colder again, you can purchase replacement liners instead of replacement boots.-- Warmth: My toes stayed toasty, with and without thick wool socks, and as someone who has suffered frostbite on my feet previously, that's a tough criteria to live up to. Size: I took the advice of other reviewers, and purchased down a size. I purchased a 7 1/2, while I would normally wear a 7 1/2 or an 8, and they're roomy for a 7 1/2, allowing me to wear thick wool socks. I'm not sure that they're really a 1/2 size large, because wearing thick socks is pretty darn tight. Comfort: The boot itself is comfortable, but if you let the felt liner touch your skin, it will rub and be very uncomfortable. I suggest always wearing long socks and perhaps even tucking your pants into your socks. I have some pretty nasty rug-burn like stuff near my ankles now. Over all a great boot for the first storm- I'm guessing they'll be great for many to come!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • AverageCarolyn, Zappos Customer
  • from Minnesota
  • December 5, 2013
48 people found this review helpful
22 people found this review helpful
Kloidz_youknowwhoitis from MPLS
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I live in Minnesota, it is snowy and cold here in the winter. I go out in snowstorms, walk through snowbanks, walk around in the cold, but my feet stay warm and dry. these boots are awesome! I know that Sorel does make other boots with higher ratings for colder temperatures than these, but this style is the perfect compromise of fashion and function. So far this winter, it has dropped to -12°, not counting wind chill, and my feet still stay warm. And I have Reynauds Disease. So that really says something. As for sizing, I am a 9½, and I got the 9½ and I think that I picked the best size for me. I did try on a pair in 9, but my toes touched the end, and that I do not like. So I think the size is true to size length wise, but they are a bit wide, and I think maybe that is why almost half of the reviews states they run large. But I am glad that I got my normal size. I do think a thick insole would be good to snug up the width for me a bit, but that is not even necessary. These boots are pretty comfortable, I had no issues with the Achilles area that I read some other people are having. They are a great investment. I do not regret buying these at all!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Kloidz_youknowwhoitis, Zappos Customer
  • from MPLS
  • December 25, 2013
22 people found this review helpful
9 people found this review helpful
Colorado Rockies
4Rated 4 stars
Overall:4Rated 4 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
These are cute boots but they cannot come close to my 30 year old real Sorrels. They are warm as long as you are not standing on snow or ice for a while even with extras like wool and high tech insulators under the liner. Warnings: Fur allows snow in! They are not for deep snow, unless you like wet feet. I wish they came with a draw string lining inside the fur. The fur also catches all kinds of things, weeds, stickers, hay, and sometimes makes its way down to your feet.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Colorado Rockies
  • December 11, 2013
9 people found this review helpful
8 people found this review helpful
Bonnie from Seattle
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
The cutest winter boots that actually keep feet warm!! Definitely get one size down from what you normally wear. I'm a size 10 and originally did get 10 (since there were no size 9's left). They were super loose. Luckily I checked with Zappos a week later, to see that they must have got more size 9's in, so I did an exchange and the 9's fit perfectly. I have these in the Hawk color and just love them. It was a little difficult to get my feet into them, but that's not worth complaining about when these boots are so cute and functional. I had no problem tucking my jeans into them either. Zappos also proved to be the best in customer service; I thought I would have to send back the wrong size before they would send out the correct size for me, but no! As soon as I contacted Zappos about the need for an exchange, they sent new boots out that day, and only asked that I return the other ones within 14 days! Try the online live chat with their customer service; they are quick and so helpful!! Thank you Zappos!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Bonnie, Zappos Customer
  • from Seattle
  • January 8, 2009
8 people found this review helpful
5 people found this review helpful
Vermont
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Best Winter Boot Ever - I live in Vermont and these are by far the best winter boots I have ever owned. I was in search of a cute waterproof boot that was comfortable. I tried about 15 different styles until I found these. I have worn these boots everywhere, from snowshoeing to the inauguration in DC (standing in freezing cold for 15 hours) and have received so many compliments on them. They are rugged, yet stylish. My only small issue with these boots is that they are really wide and I have very narrow feet. I usually wear an 8.5 and I ordered these in 8, could have gotten away with 7.5 but I get cold easily and wanted to be able to wear thick socks with these (although they are so warm, I have never needed thick socks).
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Vermont
  • May 6, 2009
5 people found this review helpful
4 people found this review helpful
Pennsylvania
4Rated 4 stars
Overall:4Rated 4 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
Definitely warm and waterproof - I wore these out on a 6 mile hike through five inches of snow and ice in January in the Pennsylvania Mountains. I even walked through springs with moving water, mud, and slush that came up past the rubber part of the boot. Amazingly, my feet were warm and completely dry the entire time. I bought these boots for days like this and hikes like this but they really performed better than I expected. And even after all the mud and snow, they still look new (I have them in black). I should mention that because I have been wearing Uggs, my feet did feel pretty heavy by the end of the hike and these boots were bulky enough to make me feel clunky and clumsy at times but I haven't noticed these problems during shorter walks or while chasing my dogs around in the snow. These boots are comfortable in the ankle and easier to drive in than in my North Face Chillkats. A very warm and seriously waterproof boot. I’ve lived in places with serious winters my whole life and never owned boots that performed like this. I am normally a size 5 so I ordered a 5 in these and since they run a little big, I shoved a size 5 Ugg insole in them. Works great.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Pennsylvania
  • January 11, 2009
4 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Utah
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
So this is a review to the boot's longevity. I've had this boot for about 5 or so years now with heavy use in the winter working at a ski resort. It's super warm and cozy and your feet stay dry (unless you step in snow that goes over the top but that's a given, just cinch 'em up). Traction isn't the best on ice, but better than most. Give the liners a wash before you put them away in the spring to keep them "fluffy" on the inside. Super cute for apres ski, trudging around running errands, etc. They aren't super "sleek" and may feel a bit "clunky" but cute and functional. A win-win for the winter...contemplating which new pair to get just because I love them so much.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Utah
  • November 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
LOVE! I have wanted these boots for couple of years, but kept stalling. When I saw the black with the red laces I literally placed on order immediately. I am ECSTATIC! The boots are warm, comfortable and gorgeous! I cannot wait to wear these. I have several Sorel styles, and I continue to be thrilled with their items. I am a 7.5, ordered same, and they are a good fit. I could have gone to an 8 and that would have been fine as well, but there is no way these run large. Premium boots, designer look, what more can you ask for? Worth every penny!
I'd also recommend:
Frye
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • September 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Patricia B from Bend, OR
3Rated 3 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:3Rated 3 starsComfort:3Rated 3 starsStyle:3Rated 3 stars
Was this review helpful?
I bought 3 different styles of Sorel boots, needing to replace my 20+ year old pair. I purchased Tivoli High, Joan of Arctic and Tofino II. The Tivoli High are as stylish as a snow boot can be and the most flexible and easiest to walk in of the bunch, but very difficult to get on. They might work for those with a narrower foot or low instep, but if you have a wider foot or higher instep I wouldn't recommend, extremely difficult to get on and run on the narrower side. The Joan of Arctic are the biggest, heaviest,clunkiest of the 3 and impossible to get on even though they have the widest footbed, something about the way the ankle or instep is shaped. If you're truly in the snow for hours these are probably the best bet if you can get them on! The Tofino II were the perfect compromise and the easiest to put on. I live in the high desert of Central Oregon where it gets cold and icy and plan on wearing them to walk 1-2 miles, dog park, etc. and my snowshoes fit on them just fine without being as clunky as most snow boots. They are a little stiff at the calf but I'm hoping they'll break in a bit. And I just tested them on my icy patio and the traction is great!!I couldn't get the Joan of Arctic on to test sizing, but with the Tivoli and the Tofino I found they run true to size, just the Tivoli ran a little narrower. I wear an 7.5 or 8 and the 8 were the right fit.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Patricia B, Zappos Customer
  • from Bend, OR
  • December 29, 2016
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
2Rated 2 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:2Rated 2 starsComfort:2Rated 2 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
People...Land’s End—women’s alpine boot. Half the weight, 2x the insulation, infinitely more comfortable (true to size), just picked them up on sale for 50% off—$57. This sorel boot is like wearing cement shoes, no flexibility in the shaft whatsoever, overpriced AF.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • December 23, 2017
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Katya from Saint Paul, MN
2Rated 2 stars
Overall:2Rated 2 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
When I got married and moved to Minnesota, my husband bought me a pair of Sorel winter boots. They were so heavy and ugly I did not wear them for two years. Then a deep snow winter hit, and I converted. I wore those boots for 12 years--casual wear, in the city, running around doing errands and picking up kids. So regular use, but not heavy. Finally they wore out. I told my husband "Sorel boots are amazing! This time--I'm going to buy myself the most expensive and beautiful pair of Sorels on the market, because I know it's an investment and I'm going to have them for years." So--the Women's Joan Of Arctic boot. They came and I loved them. I got *so* many compliments. And I loved telling the story of my old boots and how these boots were a treat for me. Because--Sorel, right? Then... In one season of wearing them in the city, the heels wore through and the boots started to leak. I was horrified, but not alarmed. I figured, "just get in touch with Sorel, and they'll take care of it. This must be a problem unique to my boots--some sort of quality control issue that they'll be eager to fix." Well, I was wrong. When I called in, the service person I spoke to informed me that Sorel was under the new ownership of Columbia, and if my boots were over a year old, there was no guarantee for materials. If I wanted, I could mail the boots in at my own expense, and they would see if they could be repaired--also at my expense. Just wow. So the bottom line is: if you like the look of these boots and want to wear them for a season, go ahead and buy them. But if you imagine you are buying a premium, high quality item from a manufacturer who will stand by the quality of their goods--forget it. I live in Minnesota. We need durable, warm, high quality winter gear. Sadly, Sorels no longer seems to fit that bill.
I'd also recommend:
Pajar
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Katya, Zappos Customer
  • from Saint Paul, MN
  • December 22, 2016
2 people found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Unfortunately, the wrong size was in the box that was delivered and they also do not look brand new. Please issue a full refund. Thank you
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • January 29, 2018
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Susan D from Annapolis, Maryland
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Adorable boots but the tongue is very low. This boot will not keep out snow that is higher than the 3rd lace tie. The boot does run big. I am a 6 1/2 and it was way too big for me. I would definitely wear these boots (in a different size) for style but I don't feel like they a good winter snow boot option.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Susan D, Zappos Customer
  • from Annapolis, Maryland
  • January 9, 2017
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Bre from New York
5Rated 5 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I was surprised that a lot of people said to order a size down. I don't recommend it! I felt they were definitely true to size without super thick socks on. At least for my size 10 feet. I'm new to NY from the NW and felt these boots were absolutely needed for the winter weather coming up! I haven't had a chance to wear them in deep snow but they absolutely have kept my feet warm in the cold weather. I didn't give them a 5/5 in comfort because there is a part of the tongue that hits the top of my foot weird and is uncomfortable but I'm hoping that gives with more wearing. Once I get it in some snow I'll update this review.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Bre, Zappos Customer
  • from New York
  • December 17, 2016
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Chicago
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I love these boot! So glad I bought them. I usually wear a size 10 and that's what I bought. I have narrow feet and these boots run wide. When I tried them on, the heel area would ride up but not enough where it couldn't be fixed with an extra pair of socks. If I had bought a 1/2 size smaller like some people suggested on the site, they wouldn't have fit me. Remember these are winter snow boots, your feet need room to breathe. They take a moment or two to get them on your feet as well. Untie them completely before you put your feet in them. These aren't the type of boots that just slip on. Hopefully that will go away with wearing them in. They are nice and warm no issues there and I live in Chicago where the weather can change several times through out the day. Everybody seems to have them here. That is one of the reasons I bought them. I couldn't wait to get them out in the snow and they were great. I totally recommend, a good investment especially for those who live where it snows a lot! They are Sorel so you know they are good quality and you will have them for years to come.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Chicago
  • January 26, 2016
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
United States
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love these boots! The color is slightly different than the picture shows but only by a little bit. They still have reddish hue to them but they are slightly darker and more brown. I ordered them because I was hoping they were that red color and when I got them, even with the difference, I fell in love. The boot certainly feels high quality and worth the price paid - very warm, well constructed and high quality materials. I love the snap strap over the fur insert. It helps with putting the boot onto your foot easily. My only caveat is that the boot is a little difficult to get off. Worth every penny in my opinion!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from United States
  • October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Lisa B from Cincinnati OH
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Awesome snow boot! My feet do not get wet or cold. It's a little wider in the foot than I expected, but not a big deal. It's so nice to have a good outside boot that gives a little style! I use to shovel the snow, when we are at a ski resort (and I'm not in my ski or snowboard boots), playing out in the snow with my niece and nephew, etc. Have even worn them to work when it was really snowy out. I also like the fact that the laces are not the traditional leather laces, that can get brittle and break. These are great! Expect them to hold up a long time!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Lisa B, Zappos Customer
  • from Cincinnati OH
  • January 10, 2010
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Maria from Carrabassett Valley, ME
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Awesome boot - Very, very warm. My daughter uses thin socks or else feet get too hot. Sizing is very generous. The oatmeal color is very fashionable. The best footwear for severe weather!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Maria, Zappos Customer
  • from Carrabassett Valley, ME
  • January 11, 2009
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Eugene, Oregon
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Adorable and Comfy - I am so glad Sorel boots run wide. I usually wear an 11 wide, but tried these in 11 regular after reading all the reviews. Well, they fit great. My calves are a bit too chunky for me to tuck my pants into the top, so I just roll them up and they look great all scrunched over the fur trim. If I had to wear heavy socks with them, they probably wouldn't fit, but they keep my feet soooo toasty there's no need for socks at all. And, I was surprised how easily they pulled on and off, considering their height. Yay! Love my new boots!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Eugene, Oregon
  • January 2, 2009
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Sarah N from Maine
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
Great boots! I love this boot! They were hard to get on the very first time, but after I broke them in they fit perfectly (I got a 1/2 size smaller than I normally wear). They are warm and they always keep my dry. They are a bit bulky, but still cute. :)
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Sarah N, Zappos Customer
  • from Maine
  • January 1, 2009
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
4Rated 4 stars
Overall:4Rated 4 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
Pros: well made shoe, super cute, warm and truly water proof... will be an absolute asset in this snowy winter season. Cons: a bit hard to get the shoe ON (getting the shoe off is less of a problem), the shoe rubs the back of my ankle... this was a definite problem the first few weeks of wear. Now the shoe has softened, and as long as I wear thick socks, it's not a problem. Also, this is a HEAVY shoe. Good to keep in mind when purchasing.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Antonette C, Zappos Customer
  • February 18, 2016
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Iowa
4Rated 4 stars
Overall:4Rated 4 starsComfort:3Rated 3 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I want to love these boots, got the black with red laces and they are so incredibly gorgeous. But alas I have wider calves and with the fur and where the top hits my leg they just look ridiculous on me. They also run large, I tried another style of Sorel in a 10.5 and fit was perfect, these in same size were too big.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Iowa
  • December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Esperanza from Chicago, IL
4Rated 4 stars
Overall:4Rated 4 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
Good for winter - All the reviews said it was larger than marked; but I ordered my normal size. 1) I have large feet. 2) I am pregnant and wasn't sure if my feet had expanded. When I got the shoes, I was very excited and it snowed the next day. Soon, I was agitated because I got blisters and it was painful to walk in the shoes. They did not FEEL larger than marked but measuring my foot against the sole clearly illustrated that yes. The larger width is okay because usually in winter you are wearing thick socks. Eventually the blisters subsided and the shoes stopped hurting. Great for winter, but not if you are looking for something dainty and feminine as well. Get plenty o' compliments on them.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Poor SupportGreat Support

  • Esperanza, Zappos Customer
  • from Chicago, IL
  • February 1, 2009
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
Boston
3Rated 3 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:3Rated 3 starsComfort:2Rated 2 starsStyle:4Rated 4 stars
Was this review helpful?
These are cute boots but not very practical. I live in MA and was looking for boots to wear in a lot of snow. I had 3 main issues with these. 1) They are almost impossible to put on and almost as hard to take off. It would get old real quick having to deal with these. They don't even have a tab to help pull them on. 2) The liner has a seam running along the length of the back. The boot also contours in at the ankle. These two things combined made that seam rub pretty hard on my achilles, even through socks and jeans. 3) They are big enough to make you walk like you are wearing ski boots. This I could have dealt with if not for the other two issues.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from Boston
  • January 21, 2018
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
New York, NY
3Rated 3 stars
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:3Rated 3 starsComfort:3Rated 3 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Cute and warm. However, the gray runs a little large - I'd say about half-size. And, weirdly, the black runs a half-size SMALL. I ordered a 9.5 in both pairs. Needless to say, I have to return both and gamble with the size of the reorder, since clearly the sizing is inconsistent!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Anonymous, Zappos Customer
  • from New York, NY
  • January 18, 2018
1 person found this review helpful

Zappos Family Culture

Learn what inspires Zappos.com to provide the best service!

Zappos Family Core Values:10 Values We Live By »

Customer Testimonials:Customers Connect »

Enjoy Fun and A Little Weirdness:Check out Blogs »

The Zappos.com Experience:Share Your Videos »

Unique Customers:Furry Customers »
Customers In Training »

Become a Part of the Zappos Family Culture:Careers »

Free Shipping
and Free Returns

If, for any reason, you are unsatisfied with your purchase from Zappos Retail, Inc. you may return it in its original condition within 365 days for a refund. We'll even pay for return shipping!

Read our Shipping and Return Policies »

Privacy Policy

Zappos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy »

Zappos Footer

Make your inbox happy by joining our exclusive newsletter!