Available 24/7 at (800) 927-7671

Join Zappos Rewards & Get Expedited Shipping + Earn Points on Every Order!

My Cart

Converse Chuck Taylor® All Star® Core Ox Reviews

Customer Reviews
5Rated 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars (4869 reviews)
4869 reviews
total

Overall Rating:

84%5Rated 5 stars

12%4Rated 4 stars

3%3Rated 3 stars

1%2Rated 2 stars

1%1Rated 1 stars

Customer Fit Survey:

61%"Felt true to size"

92%"Felt true to width"

53%"No arch support"

4795 are "Favorable"

74 are "Critical"

Top Positive Review

38 people found this review helpful
Overall5Rated 5 stars
Comfort5Rated 5 stars
Style5Rated 5 stars
The classic that never dies! Chucks, despite the common misconception, are indeed true to size. I don't understand the fuss over the "size down" trend here. As a simplistic canvas and rubber shoe, they are not going to snug like modern sneakers. It is no surprise that so many reviewers say to size down but also say their shoes are narrow. Buy your true size and Chucks are not narrow. Comfortable too - Pete Maravich didn't need arch support, neither do you!
Mar 13, 2012 by Con M
vs

Top Critical Review

2 people found this review helpful
Overall1Rated 1 stars
Comfort1Rated 1 stars
Style1Rated 1 stars
I have worn converse for years. This is the first time I have had s pair fall apart. To say the least I am not happy.
Mar 19, 2018 by CDrake

Additional 4869 Chuck Taylor® All Star® Core Ox Converse Reviews

Search
  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful
  • Newest

1 2 3 ... 195 Next »

38 people found this review helpful
Con M from New York
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
The classic that never dies! Chucks, despite the common misconception, are indeed true to size. I don't understand the fuss over the "size down" trend here. As a simplistic canvas and rubber shoe, they are not going to snug like modern sneakers. It is no surprise that so many reviewers say to size down but also say their shoes are narrow. Buy your true size and Chucks are not narrow. Comfortable too - Pete Maravich didn't need arch support, neither do you!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Con M - customer
  • from New York
  • March 13, 2012
38 people found this review helpful
23 people found this review helpful
Rebekah N from Salt Lick, Kentucky
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
First of all Zappos is awesome! I ordered these shoes one day and was wearing them the next! Love these shoes, I've been wearing them for years. I will never buy shoes from anyone else ever again.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Rebekah N - customer
  • from Salt Lick, Kentucky
  • October 17, 2011
23 people found this review helpful
17 people found this review helpful
Ally A from PA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Great shoes. I'm in a wheelchair, so the rubber helps keep my feet on the footrest. I guess they're comfortable? I really can't feel them. I order them a size larger than other things I wear, so an 8 women's, so I would recommend you go larger with these. They look good with anything I wear, and I get compliments every now and then, as well!
I'd also recommend:
More Converse!!! and Vans!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size smaller than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Ally A - customer
  • from PA
  • March 5, 2012
17 people found this review helpful
15 people found this review helpful
Jenny R from San Diego, CA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
A flat out classic. Very flat! Seriously, you can not go wrong with classic Chucks. They look good new, they look good old, they look good falling apart. I like the old school colors because you can get half sizes. The newer colors only come in whole sizes.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Jenny R - customer
  • from San Diego, CA
  • November 25, 2011
15 people found this review helpful
13 people found this review helpful
Long Island, NY
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I bought these to just have a more casual pair of sneakers around. I put off getting them for years because the stores only carried full sizes, but when I heard they came in half sizes too I ordered a pair. I'm a Women's size 6.5 usually, and I tried on a size 6 in a local store to get a sense of the sizing, but that was too big and ultimately ordered a 5.5 which fit fine. I noticed in putting them on for the first time that they have basically no support, but I put a pair of arch supports in them and they're good to go.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Long Island, NY
  • April 16, 2012
13 people found this review helpful
7 people found this review helpful
David L from Hampden, MA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I have been wearing Chuck Taylor All Stars for many years, since before they became cool to wear. The only place for me to find them has been on the internet, I recently ordered them from Zappos. The ordering process was simple and the product was delivered more quickly than advertised. I will definitely order from them again.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • David L - customer
  • from Hampden, MA
  • April 12, 2012
7 people found this review helpful
6 people found this review helpful
Rick F from Bradenton, FL
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Was very pleased with the service and delivery from Zappos. I've worn Chucks for years and these are up to the normal quality. Recently, Doctors have stated that Chucks and their lack of arch support actually help the muscles of your feet stay strong to support you as opposed to becoming weak when the shoe does all the work for you.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Rick F - customer
  • from Bradenton, FL
  • December 28, 2011
6 people found this review helpful
6 people found this review helpful
Dalia from DALLAS, TX
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Great shoes! My little brother loved them. I also like that they had the exact style and color, as well as much variety.
  • Dalia - customer
  • from DALLAS, TX
  • November 26, 2011
6 people found this review helpful
5 people found this review helpful
South Shore, MA
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
What more can be said about Chuck Taylors? They are the quintessential classics - timeless, adaptable, and versatile - never out of style or out of place. I've been wearing Converse (mostly Chucks and some Jack Purcells as well) for eons, and I keep coming back for the great style, excellent value, and just generally good vibe they seem to generate! I got the all black version to wear with jeans and darker khakis - they're perfect. Easy to get through security at the airport - added bonus. I think I'll probably be buried in a pair of Chuck Taylors.
I'd also recommend:
Vans
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from South Shore, MA
  • April 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful
4 people found this review helpful
Joe P from altamonte springs fl
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
The shoes were great. My son thought they were too big until he wore them; now he likes that size.
I'd also recommend:
ascis'
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Joe P - customer
  • from altamonte springs fl
  • March 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful
4 people found this review helpful
Brooklyn, New York
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Let me just say how amazing Zappos is. I ordered these shoes on Friday, and got them this morning. I was a bit upset because I ordered the shoe in a 6 women (my usual size), but they were a smidge larger than expected. I immediately opted to return them the same day; received labels, set up pick up time with UPS, and called Zappos. It was a pleasure speaking with the Zappos representative. She has already sent a new pair so that I won't have to wait over a week for the return process to be completed, in order to exchange for a smaller size!! I'll definitely make it my business to ensure that the larger size is returned to Zappos safe and sound.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Brooklyn, New York
  • March 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful
4 people found this review helpful
Brian C from Austin, TX
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Feel a bit silly reviewing Chucks. They're classic. I always keep a pair or two around and prefer the white to add a touch of 'boom' to an outfit. I wear Chucks almost every day. Worn them on vacation when I walked hours a day. Wear them to the office. Also, I think girls are hot when they wear them. I sound obsessed. I'm not. Just the best shoes ever. Note: These shoes come an entire size larger. That's how they've been since I started wearing the brand 10 years ago. I wear 13 in almost every other shoe. Definitely only a 12 in Chucks. It's simple really. Take your shoes size. Subtract 1 from it. Order that size.
I'd also recommend:
Levis 511 jeans
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Brian C - customer
  • from Austin, TX
  • November 2, 2011
4 people found this review helpful
4 people found this review helpful
Ashli from Indianapolis, Indiana
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Shoes. These shoes are so versatile. They go with ANYTHING and last forever. I love them to death. I will probably never wear another shoe. I'm even wearing white ones with lace and "pearls" on them in my wedding. Yes, I am making them myself... Hey, I WANNA BE COMFORTABLE AND SNAZZY FOR MY WEDDING!!! (My fiance is wearing his black ones with a bow tie.. it was both our Idea)... hehe...
I'd also recommend:
DC Shoes
  • Ashli - customer
  • from Indianapolis, Indiana
  • July 3, 2002
4 people found this review helpful
3 people found this review helpful
Pacific NW
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:4Rated 4 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Love these shoes - retro, funky, cute! And I love Zappos! Selection and service absolutely cannot be beat. One thing to note: I have a pair of Converse hi-tops that I had to exchange for 1/2 size down from my usual size 8. I'm glad I ordered my usual size 8 in this style, as it fits true to size.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Pacific NW
  • April 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful
3 people found this review helpful
Jim V from Nashville, TN
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I wore Chuck Taylors long ago when I was a kid. Since I needed new sneakers, I though I'd try them again after all these years. They've got less arch support than modern running shoes, but feel great.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Jim V - customer
  • from Nashville, TN
  • April 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful
3 people found this review helpful
Midland, Texas
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Very quick delivery. No damage on any of the wrapping. Very impressive!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Midland, Texas
  • April 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful
3 people found this review helpful
Mooresville, North Carolina
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I recently bought Converse Chuck Taylor shoes and I am very happy with the product. I love doing business with Zappos as it's so easy and convenient.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Mooresville, North Carolina
  • March 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful
3 people found this review helpful
T. T from California
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
The shoes were awesome. They arrived in a couple of days with no problems. My sixteen year old son loves them. Thanks again.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • T. T - customer
  • from California
  • March 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
These are awesome shoes. They are stylish, comfortable, lightweight, and sturdy. I never got a pair of converse shoes as a kid so I am finally getting my fix at age 36. Now I get why they are so popular!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • April 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Bill G from Connecticut
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:3Rated 3 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
I love this shoe. It's the classic lacy look that screams Chuck Taylor. It won't be the most comfotable shoe in your closet, and you shouldn't reach for it if you're going to be walking all day, but if you're even considering buying this I say it is a must buy. I can't say enough for the style and look of this shoe.
I'd also recommend:
Converse Jack Purcell
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Bill G - customer
  • from Connecticut
  • April 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Falls Church
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Super fast shipping, excellent color, on trend. My daughter is a size 3 girls and we bought the Man's 3. Just a tiny bit big but she wears them with socks. So cute.
I'd also recommend:
keen
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Falls Church
  • April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
North Carolina
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Size down! I read these ran large so ordered a 6 instead of a 6.5 (I sometimes even wear a 7) but wound up needing the 5.5. Awesome, comfy, classic shoe! Might need the pink, too!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from North Carolina
  • April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Los P from los angeles
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Zappos provided extremely fast shipping. This is the best way to buy All Stars. Inexpensive price, no tax, no shipping. I wear a 11½-12 in other brands but I wear 10-10½ in Converse All Stars.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Los P - customer
  • from los angeles
  • April 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Tbilisi, georgia
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
Same as shown here, good looking, elegant, simple and high quality. The size exactly as I expected.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Tbilisi, georgia
  • April 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Pownal, Maine
5Rated 5 stars
Overall:5Rated 5 starsComfort:5Rated 5 starsStyle:5Rated 5 stars
Was this review helpful?
These run a 1/2 size too large, but they will be perfect wedding sneakers!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

No arch support

  • Zappos Reviewer
  • from Pownal, Maine
  • April 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful
Previous
1 of 195
1234...195Next

Shop with Confidence

Cart

Shopping on zappos.com is Safe

Safe Shopping Guarantee
Zappos Family Culture

Learn what inspires Zappos.com to provide the best service!

Zappos Family Core Values:10 Values We Live By »

Customer Testimonials:Customers Connect »

Enjoy Fun and A Little Weirdness:Check out Blogs »

The Zappos.com Experience:Share Your Videos »

Unique Customers:Furry Customers »
Customers In Training »

Become a Part of the Zappos Family Culture:Careers »

Shop With Confidence
Shopping on Zappos.com is Safe and Secure. Guaranteed!

You'll pay nothing if unauthorized charges are made to your credit card as a result of shopping at Zappos.com.

Safe Shopping Guarantee

BBBOnLine Reliability SealBizrate 2010 Circle of Excellence Platinum

All information is encrypted and transmitted without risk using a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol.

How We Protect Your Personal Data »

Free Shipping
and Free Returns

If, for any reason, you are unsatisfied with your purchase from Zappos Retail, Inc. you may return it in its original condition within 365 days for a refund. We'll even pay for return shipping!

Read our Shipping and Return Policies »

Privacy Policy

Zappos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy »

Thank You for Registering!

Now, don't miss out on the good stuff...